Sunday, April 6, 2014

The Four Ms. Bradwells

Book 16 of my 2014 Reading Challenge.

The Four Ms. Bradwells by Meg Waite Clayton

Summary (via the book jacket)
Mia, Laney, Betts, and Ginger, best friends since law school, reunited for a long weekend as Betts awaits Senate confirmation of her appointment to the Supreme Court.  Nicknamed "the Ms. Bradwells" during their first class at the University of Michigan Law School in 1979 - when only three women had ever served full Senate terms and none had been appointed to the court - the four have supported one another through life's challenges: marriages and divorces, births and deaths, career setbacks and triumphs large and small.  Betts was, and still is, the Funny One.  Ginger, the Rebel.  Laney, the Good Girl.  And Mia, the Savant.
But when the Senate hearings uncover a deeply buried skeleton in the friends' collective closet, the Ms. Bradwells retreat to a summer house on the Chesapeake Bay, where they find themselves reliving a much darker period in their past - one that stirs up secrets they've kept for, and from, one another, and could change their lives forever.

My Opinion

I dislike writing negative reviews so this will be brief.
I felt the style was hard to follow.  It was difficult to tell the present from the past; each chapter started with the date but the date was always the present and then it would turn into a flashback with no transition. 
For most of the book, I wasn't really invested but wanted to see how things shook out.  Then I read the last few chapters and found the ending to be a ridiculous, unfulfilling letdown.    

Quote from the Book 

"That was one of the things we Ms. Bradwells had in common pretty much from the start: we might laugh at ourselves or at our own chances, but even when we didn't know each other very well yet...we never did laugh at each other's dreams."

No comments:

Post a Comment